This article describes how you can add Shared Channels to your Teams-based workspaces using Atlas ConneX.
In this article:
- Some important differences with Standard or Private vs Shared Channels
- Adding a Shared channel
The "Add channel" option is available for Teams-based workspaces since Atlas 4.0, and it allowed you to add a Standard or a Private Channel directly from the ConneX card.
With Atlas 4.1 we now add a new functionality which is allowing you to create Shared Channels using the same "Add channel" option.
Some important differences with Standard or Private vs Shared Channels
A Shared channel is similar to a private channel and you still set owners and members but there are some important differences.
In a private channel the members and owners need to be a member of the parent Team which hosts that channel. For a Shared channel this is not the case and you don't need to be member of the parent Team!
Standard and private channels are only visible and accessible within the Microsoft tenant. This means that if you have external guests added to the channel they will first have to switch from their Microsoft tenant to the Microsoft tenant of your organization.
Shared channels are visible directly in the Microsoft tenant of the individual. If you are added as a member or owner of a Shared channel in another Microsoft tenant, you'll see the name of the team and the shared channel directly in your organizations' Microsoft tenant and you don't have to switch tenant.
This is a huge advantage for cross organizational collaboration (extranet scenarios etc.).
A condition for shared channels to work is that the tenants need to have open federation or tenants are federated and the email address.
Adding a Shared channel
An important note to make is that the option to add a shared channel is only available to "Owners". If you are a "member" you'll not have the option to create a shared channel.
To add a shared channel just go to a ConneX card and open up the menu using the vellipsis (...) on the top right and choose the "Add channel" option:
The form to create a channel will open up and in the privacy section you can select to create a shared channel:
When choosing for the shared channel option you'll get the chance to add "owners" and/or "members" within your organization (see "limitations" below).
You can set all metadata you want to apply to the specific folder created in the workspace library for this channel. By default the form will show the metadata set as default on workspace level but you can decide to have specific default metadata for this specific channel / folder.
Once happy with your settings hit the "Add channel" button and your channel will be created.
For the moment we are limiting our form in such a way that we only allow you to add internal users only. This means, when setting up a shared channel, you can not directly select a guest from an external tenant to the channel. You have to do that after the channel is created.
In the future, once an API will be available, we might be able to remove this limitation and allow you to directly add external users but for the moment we don't have any indication when that might be possible.
Please sign in to leave a comment.